Top 10 Favourite Animated Films

Top 10 Animated Title Card

In the interest of fairness, seeing as I did my Top 10 Favourite Disney films (check it out here) a while back, this time I’m doing my Top 10 Favourite Animated Films (in case the title didn’t give it away).

Now a few rules before I start. There are no films from the Disney canon here (already done that list thank you). Also I’ve tried to keep the list limited to one film from each creator/company (though there are exceptions), because if I didn’t then this list would just be constructed entirely of Pixar and Studio Ghibli films. Lastly, just to reiterate, this is a list of my FAVOURITE animated films. This is not a ‘Best of’ list, it’s a list of the films I enjoy watching the most. My heart rules here, not my head. Now, on with the show!

  1. The Secret of Kells

This film makes it on to the list for one reason, it’s animation (ok, technically there’s a second reason, which is that I haven’t seen Song of the Sea yet. Release the bloody DVD in the UK already!) The animation is gorgeous in the film. The style alone is something unique, like nothing else out there at the minute, but when the images start moving it is truly a work of art. The story itself, about the origins of the Book of Kells, is a good one, but I couldn’t help feeling I’d have more reverence for it if I was Irish (or knew more about the Book of Kells. Isn’t an informative movie). The actual story is a simple one, and I like all of the characters, so there’s nothing bad about this film. That animation is just mesmerising though.

  1. Land Before Time

Now I will admit that the nostalgia is strong with this one. The story of a bunch of young dinosaurs trying to make it to the Great Valley is a simple, yet powerful one. Ok, so most of the actual story boils down to the characters messing around until they reach their final destination, and there are some obvious cuts as several scene changes are quiet abrupt. I don’t care though. I love these characters, quirks and all. They are ingrained in my childhood, and not even a dozen less-than-good sequels shall ever dislodge them. Also I think this film deals with death in one of the most mature and honest ways I’ve ever seen in a kids’ film. You feel Littlefoot’s grief. I think, for me, the one that sticks in my mind the most, and tears out my heart every time, is the scene of him chasing after what he thinks is his mother, but in actuality is just his shadow (Seriously, you need happy goofing around scenes after that). At the time this was pretty unique and it’s why I appreciate this film so much. It may be a simple children’s story, but it doesn’t talk down to its audience.

  1. Batman: Mask of the Phantasm

Batman the animated series is probably my favourite cartoon in existence. It was a huge part of my childhood, as well as my introduction to my favourite superhero. This film captures all of the qualities that made the show great, and carries them across to the big screen. It acts like an extended episode of the series, while giving us a deeper look at the early days of Batman, and a glimpse at a different path he could have gone down. We also meet a great villain in the Phantasm, who has been criminally underused since the character’s creation. This story is not a happy one mind. Batman doesn’t even really win. Yet despite all of the darkness and tragedy, our hero carries on, and for me, that is something that is at the heart of Batman. He takes the darkness, and the tragedy, that permeates his life and turns it into a force for good.

  1. The Iron Giant

The thing that I love most about this film is the relationships between the characters. They all feel genuine and natural, though of course the best relationship is between the boy and his giant death machine robot. It’s sweet, heart-warming and incredibly sad when the robot sacrifices himself in the end. Though that’s another reason I really like this film, yeah this is a kids’ film so we all know the robot isn’t actually dead and this is just a fake out, yet how the film reveals the robot is still alive is something beautiful. Instead of a few moments of tears before an instant reunion, we see the passage of time, we actually get to see the effects of grief on the young boy, and yet we still end on a hopeful note. It’s a very mature and heart-warming, just like the rest of this film.

  1. The Incredibles

There are a lot of superhero movies around nowadays, and sometimes it can be hard to find a new and original story to tell, the Incredibles manages it though. It creates a whole world of heroes that is both realistic and fantastical. You can understand and relate to all the characters. I love them all and it’s a pleasure just to hang out with them. This film also has some excellent dialogue and is very funny. It isn’t afraid to make fun of several superhero tropes, yet always does it in a loving way. On a last note, I have to say that I love the 60s James Bond vibe to the music and several of the sets. It just adds another layer to the aesthetic that differentiates it from the rest of the superhero fare we get, and really, that’s why I love it.

  1. Coraline

This is a scary film. Not in the sense that you’ll be jumping in your seat, but there’s this creepy atmosphere that pervades the whole film. Throw in some startling images and downright horrific ideas, and your nightmares will have enough fuel to last for a year. The animation is also jaw-droppingly impressive. This is a stop-motion from Laika, and I can only applaud the clear amount of effort and detail put into the animation. Some of the things they manage to accomplish are just unbelievable.

  1. Princess Mononoke

Now I love Studio Ghibli films. They have divine animations, loveable characters and they just ooze atmosphere and detail, yet I wouldn’t call most of them action-packed. They tend to just take their time and go with the flow. Princess Mononoke manages to hold on to all of that character, atmosphere and world building detail, while also delivering an engaging adventure full of action, peril and badassery galore. It is also one of the best environmental-themed films in existence. There is no preaching here, no villain laughing maniacally while beating up baby seals. No character is depicted as wholly evil, or wholly good. It’s gorgeous, it’s dark, it’s savage, it’s thoughtful and completely engrossing. Basically it’s really, really good.

  1. Nightmare Before Christmas

Proof that sometimes the simplest stories are the best. When you think about it, this film about the Pumpkin King taking over Christmas isn’t exactly a complex one. It’s not grand or epic, but then it doesn’t need to be. Some truly great songs, likeable characters and imaginative designs make this film. That’s the thing I have to applaud about this film the most, the designs. The amount of creativity on display when it comes to the characters, each one filled with so many little details. They must have taken forever to make, and I’m so glad they were.

  1. Who Framed Roger Rabbit

Do I really need to explain why this is on the list? Great characters, a hilarious script and ground-breaking animation, what more could you ask for? Oh yeah, a whole landslide of iconic cartoon characters on screen together for the only time. Not that any of our main characters ever take a backseat to the endless cameos, each one of these characters work their way into your heart. Also the live-action-animation integration has still to be beaten. A technical and emotional marvel, this film probably should be number one, but there’s one film that I just can’t get enough of.

  1. How To Train Your Dragon

My God I love this film (as you can probably tell by its position at number one on the list). It’s not any one thing that makes this a great film, but a whole parade of tiny bits and pieces that amass together to make just a wonderful experience. Ok, maybe the animation is starting to show it’s age a little bit, but the framing and the lighting of scenes is still exquisite. It’s not something that you see all that often, and I love this film for it. It also helps to make the flying scenes things of absolute beauty. I really wish I’d seen this film in 3D when it came out, because I’m pretty sure my mind would have been blown. The story itself of a boy and his dragon isn’t anything that new or original, but the characters are so believable and likeable that they’re able to lift it up and make the story feel fresh. I know it’s not greatest animated film of all time, but there is no film I enjoy watching more.

Chris Joynson, aka the Infallible Fish, is a writer, blogger and lover of animation living in Sheffield. The blog updates every Friday.

4 comments

  1. Cassandra · May 24, 2015

    I have to say you have some on here I have personally seen! I have heard and seen some shots of The Secret of Kells and I think it might be just the thing for me. I love Irish culture traces and have also gotten recommendations from others of the visceral beauty of this animated film.

    The Nightmare Before Christmas directed by Tim Burton. I have to agree what makes this animated film the best out there is the character designs especially of the Pumpkin King and the singing as well as musical score. Beautiful and mesmerizing.

    Coraline reminds me of The Nightmare Before Christmas over the darker tone but I like the more realistic values that were portrayed.

    Great list. I would love to watch How To Train Your Dragon since have only seen Dragons: Riders of Berk (TV series) but that itself piqued my interest.

    Like

    • neverarguewithafish · May 25, 2015

      Thanks. Definitely check out Secret of Kells and How To Train Your Dragon, might I also suggest Song of the Sea when it becomes avaliable, I haven’t seen it myself yet, but its by the same guys behind the Secret of Kells and the animation looks just as good, with the story this time tackling the selkie myth.

      Like

      • Cassandra · May 25, 2015

        Thanks for the recommendations. If I can find the time. I want to really I do but I somehow always get busy. But honestly thank you for the recommendation, no less.

        Like

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Favourite Anime | Never Argue with a Fish

Leave a comment